## **PUBLIC WORKS.**

Since Confederation and before, the Department of Public Works has been known as the constructing department. In 1879 the railways and canals were placed under control of a new department, the building and maintenance of penitentiaries were transferred to the Department of Justice, the maintenance and construction of lighthouses to the Marine and Fisheries Department, and the smaller drill halls and armouries to the Department of Militia and Defence. The work of the Department of Public Works is now divided into three principal branches, viz., the Engineering Branch, the Architect's Branch, and the Telegraph Branch.

**Engineering.**—The Engineering Branch comprises the construction and repair of wharves, piers, breakwaters, dams, weirs, bank and beach protection works; the improvement of harbours and rivers by dredging; the construction, maintenance and operation of government dredging plant; the construction and maintenance of graving docks; the construction, maintenance and working of slides and booms; the construction and maintenance of interprovincial bridges and approaches thereto, and of bridges on highways of federal importance in the Northwest Territories and the maintenance of military roads; also hydrographic and ordinary surveys and examinations, inclusive of precision levelling and geodetic measurements which are required for the preparation of plans, reports and estimates; the testing of cements, etc. The Branch has charge of about 1,700 harbour works, 4 graving docks, 4 slide and boom works, interprovincial bridges, 40 dredges and 228 tugs, scows and other dredging plant.

Architecture.— The Architect's Branch builds and maintains government buildings, post offices, custom houses, examining warehouses, and constructs quarantine, immigration and experimental farm buildings, armouries, military hospitals and drill halls, land offices and telegraph offices. The most important public building now under construction is that of the new Houses of Parliament at Ottawa.

**Telegraphs.**—The Telegraph Branch has control over the construction, repair, and maintenance of all government-owned telegraph lines and cables. These lines are located in the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, and the Yukon, and statistics relating to them are given on page 581.

Graving Docks.—There are four graving or dry docks completed and owned by the Canadian Government. The dimensions of these docks are shown in Table 17. The dock at Kingston, Ontario, is under lease to the Kingston Shipbuilding Company. The dock at Levis, Quebec, east of the old dock, is 1,150 feet long, divided into two parts (650 and 500 feet respectively), and 120 feet wide; it has a depth at high water of 40 feet. It cost about \$3,500,000. A new dock is under construction at Esquimalt, B.C.; the dimensions are given in Table 17. Under the Dry Dock Subsidies Act, 1910